A Blog Award and Some Other Notes

Standard

The One Lovely Blog Award

A few days ago, I had the honor of being nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award by Lindsey of The Motion Pictures.  I am a big fan of Lindsey’s blog, so it was truly a pleasure to receive it from her.  Thank you, Lindsey!

I’m posting about this since this is the first blog award I’ve received.  In the future, however, if any other awards should come my way, I won’t be devoting posts to them.

With the One Lovely Blog Award come the following rules:

  • Include the award graphic in your post.
  • Thank and link the blogger who nominated you.
  • Share seven random facts about yourself.
  • Pass the award on to 15 other bloggers. Be sure to contact and congratulate them.

As I tried to figure out which bloggers to pass it on to, I had a few thoughts.  I realized that I risked forgetting people, offending people I didn’t choose, or tagging people who didn’t want to participate.  And so, I decided to graciously pull out of passing it along.  I might be overthinking it, but I just feel more comfortable doing this.  Rest assured, though, that if I’ve popped by your blog a few times, I think you have a lovely blog!

That said, I feel that random facts put a human stamp on a blog, so I will answer the first part of the rules.  I’m not sure if this counts as a formal acceptance of the award, but the intent is here.  Without further ado here are seven random facts about me:

  1. I am half Belgian and half Palestinian.
  2. I love travel and photography; thus, I have a few thousand travel photos sitting on an external hard drive.  I’ll figure out something interesting to do with them someday.
  3. I love language(s).  I’ve taken many linguistics classes, and I’ve had varying degrees of formal instruction in French, Arabic, Spanish, Mandarin, Scottish Gaelic, and Irish.  I’ve dabbled in Flemish and Welsh on my own.  Out of those, I only claim to speak French well.
  4. I love olives.  Like, really love them – all different kinds.  I could probably eat a whole jar/container in one sitting if that weren’t a bad idea.
  5. I used to really love astronomy and stargazing.  I haven’t entirely lost this interest.
  6. More broadly, I used to be a total math and science person, but I eventually gravitated towards the humanities and social sciences.
  7. I competed in the Fifth Annual Quidditch World Cup. I wish that people who haven’t seen the sport would see it played at its full intensity before belittling it.

A Few Other Notes

I have been quite pleased at the reaction so far to my first three Discovery posts, so I’ve decided to continue posting one each month.  Thank you to everyone who has liked or commented on them!  Before writing these posts, I do like to make sure that I have watched or read a good chunk of the subject’s work.  As such, most of these posts will be related to classic-era directors or stars since I already have several subjects whose work I’ve seen lined up.

I am also going to try to post one From Book to Film analysis per month, though I may not be able to do this every single month.  If there are several film versions of a book, I would like to see at least two before writing such a post.

4 thoughts on “A Blog Award and Some Other Notes

  1. Hey, I’m half Belgian as well! All of my great grandparents on my dad’s side were immigrants from Flanders. I also love photography, travel and olives. We seem to have a lot in common, haha. You’re very welcome for the award. 🙂

Leave a Reply

