Introducing a New Reading Project: From the Film Back to the Book

Standard

I mentioned in my Blog Plans for 2013 that I would be introducing a new reading project this month.  In order to continue discussing works across different media, I decided to take a different angle towards book to film adaptations than I normally do for this project.

I’ve written before about how I generally like to read a book first if I’m going to watch its film adaptation, but I’ll be the first to admit that it’s not always possible.  There are times when I watch a movie and find the story interesting enough that I want to go back and read the book.  In an effort to diversify my reading, I’ve decided to design this desire as a new reading project.

I’ve set up a new page with my initial list of books I hope to read for this project.  Some are pretty famous and others are more obscure, and I’ve selected a group that includes fiction and non-fiction as well as some different genres.  As much as I tried to incorporate newer works, the list skews towards older works since I generally read more contemporary works whose film adaptations I’m interested in seeing.

I envision that these posts to be companions to the From Book to Film posts (hence the similarity in their names), though the latter are when I read the book first.  Unlike those posts, which tend to focus more on the film adaptations, these posts will be heavier on discussion of the books themselves.

The first book I’ll read for this project will be Tennessee Williams’s novella The Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone, the basis for the 1961 film starring Vivien Leigh and Warren Beatty.

4 thoughts on “Introducing a New Reading Project: From the Film Back to the Book

  1. This is a great idea; you’re right, it doesn’t always work out that we get to read every book before seeing the adaptation. The list looks good too (Out of Africa is on my to-read list).

    There are also movies based on short stories, and if you haven’t come across this collection maybe you’d be interested – Adaptations: from Short Story to Big Screen http://stephanieharrison.com/anthology2.html
    The book doesn’t only have the stories, it also includes discussions of how each one came to be developed into a movie, often departing quite a bit from the original idea and content.

    • Thanks for the recommendation – it seems like a fantastic book! I’ve heard that the best film adaptations are actually of short stories, but I’ve had some trouble finding copies of some I’d like to read. This anthology seems like the perfect solution.

  2. Pingback: From the Film Back to the Book: The Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone | Many Media Musings

Leave a Reply

