Musings on Reaching 100 Posts

Standard

100It’s taken me a little over nineteen months, but today, I am publishing my 100th post here on Many Media Musings.

When I started the blog back in September 2011, I didn’t know what would become of it.  I thought there was a very realistic chance that I’d abandon it after a few months.

But I’ve soldiered on.  As much as I’d like to write more, I’ve settled into an approximately once a week schedule (barring the last few weeks).  And honestly, I’m okay with that.

Blogging for me has become a happy escape.  This is my little space to talk about what I love and to learn more about others’ perspectives in a more casual environment than academia provides.  And the blogging community, I’ve found, is a wonderfully supportive one.

Community

I remember the first real post I published on Many Media Musings.  It was the day after I launched the blog with a welcome post.  The first content post I published was something I had drafted the summer before.  It was all ready to go, and yet I couldn’t publish it.  The thought of sending something out into the world scared me.

I hesitated for a few moments and then in an instant hit “Publish.”  It felt odd.  There were my words, on my screen, but suddenly, people around the world had access to them, too.

Of course, I wasn’t expecting much.  (I still don’t.)  I had no illusions of everyone in the world – or even more than a handful – literally reading my posts.

When I checked my blog the next morning, I found that there were two comments on my post, two more than I expected.  More than that, they had encouraging words.

Blogging is all about community.  From The Classics Club to all the classic film fans on Twitter to all the others I’ve interacted with through this blog, there is no shortage of wonderful people in the blogosphere.

Looking Forward

As I sit here in the midst of the flurry of activity that is the end of the semester, there have been days when I feel as though I should take a blogging hiatus until I have a little bit more time to devote to the blog.

But I don’t.  Because over the last nineteen months, I’ve grown to love blogging.

I might, however, have to scale back a little bit.  Even though my posts might end up becoming a little bit more sporadic in the coming months, but here are a few things you can expect:

  1. The Discovery posts will be resuming in early June to coincide with the birthday of the next subject.  (I think a few of you can probably guess who that will be.)  I had a take a little break from them since finishing them takes a little more time than my other posts.
  2. The first post in my From the Film Back to the Book project will be arriving in May.
  3. I’m also planning to undertake two new reading projects managed by others this summer, about which I’ll post more details when they get closer.

In the meantime, I’ve revamped my About section.  You can now see separate (and updated) pages for About the Blog and About Me, as well as my Spoiler Policy and Favorite Works.  And there’s a separate Contact page.

I would like to take this chance to thank everyone who has stopped by this blog over the last nineteen months.  Thanks for the support, and I hope you found something interesting to read here on my little blog.

6 thoughts on “Musings on Reaching 100 Posts

  1. Congrats Natalie! I remember when you were unsure whether you should start this blog or not and I’m so happy to see how far it has come! Your posts are always well-thought out and well-written! So happy that you kept at it until you reached post 100! And I found out about Lizzy Bennet Diaries through your post — very interesting use of the new means of video distribution!

    Miss you!

Leave a Reply

